How To… Update Your Nails

Everyone is talking about nail art, nail polish and nails in general these days! Between the Minx manicures, places like WAH Nails coming up with insanely awesome designs, and nail blogs popping up left and right, it’s clear that nails are a must-have accessory.

If you’re not bold enough to deck out every nail in a crazy design, or if you’d just like to update your manicure and still keep it chic, we have 5 ways:

1) Update The Blackberry Manicure

The original Blackberry “bling” manicure involved painting your thumb nails a different color than the rest of your hand, preferably, a silvery color to make them “pop” as you texted. Take this look to the next level and try painting any nail a different color than the rest, or get one nail done in a cool Minx print, and the rest in normal polish.

I just got my nails all done in Essie Playa del Platinum, and my ring finger is Essie Shifting Power. I’m obsessed with gray nails right now (and so is Lady Gaga apparently!), and the gold really stands out against the concrete color.

2) Go Ombre

With an ombre manicure, you can be as severe or subtle as you want. All Lacquered Up did an ombre manicure using all different shades of blue, which was so cool! I would love to try this look with a less out there color, like pinks.

3) Update Your French

Take your french to the next level, and instead of sticking with a plain nude or light pink, try a bright, daring color! I’m definitely going to be getting a manicure using OPI Ski Teal We Drop with a white line. Or maybe I’ll use a color like China Glaze Flying High.

4) Get Glam

Adding a jewel can be an easy way to instantly update your manicure. Stick-on studs, rhinestones, and stickers are all cheap and chic, and require little fuss. Be careful on the type you pick though – they can look tacky! Check your local beauty supply store for these pieces of nail art.

Tip: if you’re not quite ready to stick foreign objects onto your nails, try using a nail polish designed with a thin brush and creating a small design that you like!

5) Get Inspired!

Half of my inspiration for my nails, whether it be the colors I choose or the designs I experiment with, come from my favorite nail polish blogs. Check out Lacquerized, All Lacquered Up, WAH Nails, and The Lacquer Files! Look through any nail polish blog, and you’ll be instantly inspired to try something new.

What do you think?

Will you be experimenting with your nail polish? What color do you have on your nails right now? What’s the craziest manicure you’ve gotten? Let us know in a comment!

8 thoughts on “How To… Update Your Nails

  1. @lucy – So happy you love it! Tweet me a pic @15MinuteGoddess when you get yours done! I personally prefer OPI – I find that it lasts a lot longer than Essie, but sometimes, Essie has a great color and OPI just doesn’t have a dupe (at least in the nail salon)!

  2. I’ve always loved the idea of switching up the french mani but I’ve never been brave enough to do it.. maybe next time I get my nails done!

  3. Pingback: “Dress Down” Fridays … Love them or Hate them? « Harrison Street

Leave a comment