Beauty Face-Off: Mood Gloss

You know when you’re dying for a beauty product, but you just know that a drugstore brand could totally replicate it for half the price?

That’s how I felt when I saw Smashbox’s O-Gloss. Mood lipstick was one of those things I’d seen in dollar stores in Florida when I was a kid buying tourist-y gifts for my friends. It came in all colors: blue, green, pink, yellow. Yuck. Not quite as alluring.

But, if the dollar stores had this advanced technology, I knew it wouldn’t be long until I saw a knock-off for cheap. Yes, I had tried my friend’s O-Gloss, but still didn’t feel that it was a product worth my (parent’s) hard-earned money.

I had almost forgotten this product until I was in Binghamton’s new ULTA the other day picking up my third tube of Benefit’s “They’re Real!” mascara. It was my first time in an ULTA (I live much closer to Sephora), so naturally, I was intrigued by the entire line of NYX products that screamed, “BUY  ME!!!!!” 

I only gave in to one product, though. You’re welcome, Mom.

Say hello to my new favorite lipgloss for any occasion: NYX Cosmetic’s “Mood” Lip Gloss. You read that product description correctly: this wonderful gem is less than $5. Take that, $22 lipgloss.

This gloss slides across lips (thanks to its amazingly luxurious texture) clear, and within minutes, adjusts to a fuchsia/pink that compliments your skintone. Not only did it look great on me, it looked great on my friends, who of course, tried it as well. While it’s no hero product, it is a great addition to any lipgloss lovers’ stash.

Have you tried either O-Gloss or “Mood” Lip Gloss? What have you thought of these products? Let us know in a comment!

Leave a Reply

