I Dye.

I’ve been dying my hair for as long as I can remember, but I’ve always been a medium/dark brunette (except for that one time that I went too red).

However, even as a diehard brunette, I couldn’t deny how much I loved the idea of ombre hair. But, most people I know who’ve had it done at one of the salons in my neighborhood look so trashy, and even many celebs who have rocked the look go from brown to blonde way too dramatically (cough Khloe Kardashian).

Impulsively, I decided to take matters into my own hands this past week. After watching a dozen “How To Ombre Your Dark Brown Hair at Home Without Bleach” YouTube videos, I headed over to my local Sally Beauty Supply.

As per my amazing salesperson’s recommendation, I picked up a tint brush ($2), Clairol Professional Soy4Plex Permanent Dye in 12GN ($6), and Salon Care 40 Volume Creme Developer ($4). I decided I didn’t want an all-over ombre, but instead, a few ombre highlights just in my ends to give my hair a little more dimension and a more summery look.

I mixed together equal parts of the developer and the color in a plastic bowl, mixed it until it was a creamy consistency, and applied it to 1″ thick sections of my ends. I left it in for 40 minutes and washed it out. I did this again the next day, but only kept the dye in for 20 minutes.

The result? Honey colored highlights. While the result is not dramatic, since I didn’t use bleach, it definitely gives me that summery look I was going for (the above is from Instagram, and due to the effect, looks a little more intense and orange-y than the actual result).

Do you dye your own hair, or do you only trust a professional? Have you considered going ombre? Let us know in a comment!

One thought on “I Dye.

  1. Pingback: I Tried It, I Sorta Liked It: L’Oreal Kérastase Elixir | 15 Minute Goddess

Leave a Reply

