The Intern Diaries: Seventeen Magazine

Have you ever wondered what it’d be like to intern at a magazine? This winter, Marissa, a 21-year-old senior at Binghamton University majoring in English with a minor in Spanish, interned in the Advertising/Sales department of Seventeen! Here’s a peek into her average day:

7:00am: First alarm goes off…  Hit snooze. A few minutes later, it goes off again. Snooze. Well, waking up at 7 has now turned into 7:30. Oops.

7:30 – 8:10am: Get ready (hair, makeup, etc). Uh oh… I did not remember to pick out my outfit last night, which could be a problem. What should I wear!?

8:33am: That’s the train I get on every morning. Who said winter break meant sleeping late? Thankfully I wore my UGGs today and opted to change into heels at the office so I could make it on time!

9:17am: Train pulls in and I make my way uptown via subway to get to the Hearst building.

9:30am: I head straight for the Hearst cafeteria, which is truly a magical place, and debate between oatmeal and an egg white omelet.

10:00am: Just when I am about to start my tasks for the day, I’m asked by my boss to drop off some packages to a client on 5th Avenue. I just might have to stop into Chanel on the way…

10:30am: Back in the office and out of the freezing cold.

10:30am – 1:30pm: Update various clients’ edit credit books. What is an edit credit, you ask? They’re basically free mini advertisements, like when a magazine lists what brands a model is wearing and where you can purchase the items. Magazines use these edit credits to their advantage when pitching advertisement paging to clients.

1:30 – 2:00pm: Lunch time! Back to Hearst cafeteria, and I’m thinking it’s a sushi kind of day.

2:00 – 3:00pm: Tagged issues of the magazine for various clients. This is essentially tabbing all the pages in the new issue that feature ads and edit credits pertaining to a specific client, such as L’Oreal, P&G, and Coty.

3:00 – 5:00pm: Time to blast out some digital mailers! Mailers are basically thank you notes (or in the case of digital, thank you PowerPoints) which are sent to each client for advertising and/or receiving edit credits in the most recent issue of the magazine.

5:00pm: Quitting time! Can’t say it didn’t take me a few bathroom breaks and Facebook visits to get me through the day, but overall I can’t complain.

5:35pm: Hop on the train and hope I don’t fall asleep and miss my stop. Must. Stay. Awake.

Want to know more about Marissa? Follow her at @marishka1213 or e-mail her at mpiazzo1@binghamton.edu.

One thought on “The Intern Diaries: Seventeen Magazine

Leave a Reply

