Cosmetic Bag Essentials

While my makeup stash is a little obsessive and occupies a full drawer in my room at school (a deep drawer that is meant to hold clothing might I add), when it comes down to it, there are only a handful of products that I wouldn’t be able to survive without.

I’m always a big drugstore-beauty-aisle advocate (since you can experiment with looks without emptying your bank account), but these 9 products are the staples to my morning routine, and completely worth their price tags. While my eyeshadow and lipstick may vary, these babies don’t go anywhere.

  1. Burt’s Bees Lip Balm ($3) – Each bag I own has at least one chapstick housed in it, and it’s always a Burt’s Bees one. While I like Jack Black Lip Balm ($7.50) too, Burt’s Bees is more widely available (and cheaper) for when I hit the bottom of the tube. It hydrates instantly, and the minty flavor is totally kissable.
  2. NARS Illuminator in ‘Orgasm’ ($29) – NARS’s ‘Orgasm’ products are a cult-favorite, and the illuminator version is no different. It provides that sexy, healthy, dewy glow that every girl lusts after.
  3. NARS Bronzing Powder in ‘Laguna’ ($33) – This bronzer is absolute perfection: not too glittery, you can build it up, and unless you’re hoping to achieve a Snooki-esque look, you’ll never look orange. This is the one product that has me constantly hitting tin from how often I use it.
  4. Moroccan Oil ($40.49) – While Moroccan Oil is definitely not a budget-friendly hair product, it’s one splurge that I always recommend. Since you need a dime-sized drop to hydrate your entire head, it lasts longer than you’d expect, and the smell is absolutely addicting. My hair has never been silkier.
  5. Benefit ‘They’re Real!’ Mascara ($22) – I discovered this mascara after being given a sample at Sephora this summer, and I haven’t looked back. The formula is thick and very black, so it does require a lighter hand, but it gives your lashes length and thickness that blows every other mascara I’ve tried out of the water.
  6. MAC Blush in ‘Mocha’ ($19.50) – Blush is my new obsession when it comes to makeup, and this one is by far the most flattering and understated one I’ve tried. I even got 3 of my friends, all with different skin tones, addicted to it, too.
  7. Sephora Collection Mono Eyeshadow in ‘Must Have 06’ ($12) – I apply this eyeshadow with an angled brush to get the perfect eyeliner. It stays on all night and never ends up as giving you raccoon eye as many cream shadows/liners do.
  8. Rimmel 25 Hour Foundation in ‘Soft Beige’ ($7.13) – I use this foundation (with a sponge) as my concealer on my forehead, around my nose and on my chin. It literally erases any blemishes you may have.
  9. Neutrogena Healthy Skin Brightening Eye Perfector ($9.59) – Unfortunately, due to genetics, I have dark bags under my eyes. This concealer lightens them and can also act as a concealer elsewhere on your face.

What are your cosmetic bag essentials? Let us know in a comment!

4 thoughts on “Cosmetic Bag Essentials

  1. I absolutely, positively must have C.O. Bigelow Mentha Shine on my lips 24/7. It is the ONLY product that ever kept them in good shape. I have a stockpile and keep one handy wherever I am.

    • C.O. Bigelow products are amazing! I love their tinted Mentha Shines the most. But, if you love that, I’d definitely recommend giving Burt’s Bees a go. Same type of scent and moisturizing power!

  2. Pingback: Hair Care Essentials | 15 Minute Goddess

  3. Pingback: Beauty Arsenal: Alyssa Davis | 15 Minute Goddess

Leave a Reply

