Fashion News: Marni for H&M

Marni fans on a budget, rejoice! The Italian fashion label is next on H&M’s list of collaborations. The collection will debut in approximately 260 H&M stores worldwide on March 8, 2012.

I don’t particularly love the clothing featured in this teaser, but the accessories are to die for. I’m loving the silver pumps, the chunky neon/gold necklace and the rope sandals.

Otherwise, though, the pieces look like they could have been produced by H&M without slapping a Marni label on them.

Although I understand why designers like Missoni, Versace, Karl Lagerfeld, and Marni are resorting to collaborations with stores like Target, H&M and Macy’s during the recession, it sort of kills the allure of the designer for me (even though I definitely can’t afford the labels on my own).

Just the other day I was considering purchasing a Missoni scarf and umbrella that were on sale, but I was completely deterred because I feel like they’re no longer ‘special’ finds since everyone and their mom (and dog) is wearing Missoni for Target.

Instead, I settled for the under $10 look-alike.

While I thought Versace x H&M was a unique collaboration that brought the feel of a legendary brand to a budget friendly price point, I’m not sure I’ll feel the same way about Marni x H&M.

What do you think? Will Marni be as big of a hit as Versace was? Will you be camping out for this collection? Or do you think it’ll be a disappointment? Let us know in a comment!

Leave a Reply

