My Favorite Spring 2011 RTW Looks

Although there were several collections that featured the most gorgeous pieces I’ve seen in a while, here are my favorites from New York Fashion Week’s Spring 2011 RTW collections:

3.1 Phillip Lim

Why I love this look: On top of being a huge fan of 3.1 Phillip Lim in general, I love the simplicity of this outfit along with the chosen palette. The nude/gray shirt is sheer and flow-y, which is perfect for spring, while the powder blue pants bring structure and brightness to the ensemble. Combined with the tassel belt and shoes, you have a completely chic outfit that pulls in 3 perfect colors for Spring 2011.

Badgley Mischka

Why I love this look: It’s clear that lace is truly not going anywhere as of Spring 2011. Its soft femininity is perfect for spring, especially in a crisp cream color. Paired with high waisted white shorts, you have instant classic contrast. The camel colored shoes keep the outfit feminine, but add an extra sweep of color to keep it from being totally monochrome.

Derek Lam

Why I love this look: So, apparently, I’ll be able to transition my fall jean-on-jean look into spring! This outfit is so fresh and crisp, and the denim keeps this ensemble from looking too “business casual.” Imagine this as a white top and black trousers: it would be perfect for a day in the office. With the denim however, it’s completely on trend and more casual than business.

Herve Leger by Max Azaria

Why I love this look: Max Azaria never ceases to amaze me with his designs for Herve Leger. He’s taken the body con dress to a new level, especially with this crochet-looking dress. Not only do I love a long sleeve dress, but anything that gives a crochet feel screams spring/summer to me. The long sleeves keep it from looking trashy, though, and the pointed white heel keeps it totally classy and chic.

Jason Wu

Why I love this look: Tell me you’re not obsessed with the bright blue turban Jason Wu added to so many of his looks this season? It brightens every outfit! This outfit as a whole reminds me of a bumble bee (see black and mustard yellow stripes). The pants look so comfortable, yet chic, and a tighter fitting shirt keeps the proportions in check.

Marchesa

Why I love this look: Whenever I see Marchesa’s unbelievably gorgeous dresses strutting down the runway, I immediately channel my inner-Rachel Zoe and begin mentally picking out dresses for premiere parties, the Oscars and the Golden Globes. I can totally see this dress appearing at a premiere party of a celebrity trying to have a softer, girlier moment. Do you see those shoes!? Who do you think that celeb will be?

Michael Kors

Why I love this look: Truthfully, the entire Michael Kors S/S 2011 RTW collection was to die for. Every single thing that appeared on the runway is totally wearable, chic, and crisp, which epitomizes my style. This outfit was no exception: the grass green is bright and fun, while the white keeps it clean, and the brown bag and belt bring an earthy feel. The gauze-y material of the skirt is to die for!

Proenza Schouler

Why I love this look: One word: OBSESSED! I love the knitted feel of this dress along with the bright pops of yellow/lime peeking through unexpectedly. It gives an almost graphic-print, electric feel. Totally fun, totally simple, totally chic.

What do you think?

What were your favorite runway looks and collections from NY Fashion Week? Let us know in a comment!

Leave a Reply

